The fashion history venue Palazzo Morando I Costume Moda Immagine was inaugurated on March 1st, 2010.
It aims to showcase the extraordinary artistic heritage of the ex Museum of Milano and, at the same time, highlight the patrimony of garments and accessories preserved in the Civiche Raccolte d’Arti Applicate (Civic Collection of Applied Arts) in the castle of Milano. It enables the Milanese public, together with national and international visitors, to admire the spaces dedicated to the collection of paintings that illustrate urban scenes in Milano between the XVI and XIX centuries in a new exposition which will serve to enrich the role of residence-museum already present in a part of Palazzo Morando.
In the Palazzo not only will the important collections of fabrics, garments and accessories that were, up until today, conserved in the Civiche Raccolte d’Arte Applicata of the Sforzesco Castle, find a new showcase but it will be possible to experiment with and study fashion in all its forms.
The new museum will be presented as an informative and emotive space where, in over 2000 sq.mts. of floor space, one can admire historical works of art, evaluate the image of the present and construct ideas for the future.
A polyvalent space, a venue dedicated to exploring visual design and to the promotion of a young and vibrant image for costume history and fashion.
There are a number of 19th century paintings of Milano by Giuseppe Canella, Angelo Inganni and Amanzia Guerillot. In addition, there are examples of applied arts, such as majolica and bronzes.
A must-know museum for those who want to deepen the knowledge on Milano’s history.
On the first floor there are two distinct itineraries: the Art Gallery and the XVIIIth century Halls.
The Art Gallery in particular hosts a collection of paintings, sculptures, prints that were acquired by the Municipality of Milano in 1934 from the Luigi Beretta collection.
In the adjacent halls, in a full of charm itinerary, have been recreated the state apartments of the aristocratic family. It’s a valuable token of the social and urban evolution of Milano between the second half of the XVIIth and the first years of the XIXth centuries.
When countess Lidia Caprara Morando Attendolo Bolognini died on 30 January 1945, the building was donated, with all its furnishings, to the Municipality of Milano, and refurbished to accommodate the Museum of Milano.